“They Live in the Walls” – Ed Hermanski’s “Kimberly Story”

05/13/2014 10:31 AM: Regarding the audio file, it’s probably best that I don’t host it on my site, as I don’t know the intellectual property laws surround Mr. Hermanski’s telling of the story. When I recorded it back in 2003, I was 17, and only using the recording for personal use. I’m sure he’ll be okay with me hosting a transcription of the recording, but to protect myself from any legal issues, I’m not going to upload the recording.

Ed Hermanski c. 2007

Ed Hermanski c. 2007

I first came across this urban legend in 2002, when I was a junior in high school. A year later, I heard the story from a different source, this time informing me that the teacher involved – Ed Hermanski – not only existed, but taught at Hamilton High School, in Chandler. My friends and I stalked him down just in time to hear him tell the story right around Halloween (something that has become a regular tradition, even though he has retired).

I’ve talked about this a few times online (most notably back in 2005 and again on Yahoo! Answers) and put an old email address out in case anyone wanted copies, but now I’ve decided it’s probably easier to just post it here. About three to four times a year (especially around Halloween), my inbox explodes from people asking for the transcript; I think the running tally is close to 3,000 requests since I started archiving them back in 2007 (when the Arizona Republic ran a story on Mr. Hermanski).

A recent post on Tumblr has brought more requests in, so I figured I’d help all those searching Google for it by posting everything I have here.

Regarding “the truth” behind all of this…

I never could find anything that one could point to and say, “Hey, see this is absolute proof!” I mean, I was able to get some corroborative information from third-parties who I could trust, but I could never quite tell if people just didn’t like talking about it because it disturbed them into silence, or if they just didn’t have any idea what I was talking about. Because everything took place back in the late 80s, there were very few electronic records kept for me to access, although, these days, it is easier to track that information down; I’d kind of given up trying back in 2005 only because I had hit so many brick walls and I felt like I had exhausted all avenues of research.

On the other hand, a part of me liked the idea of just keeping it a mystery, you know? I mean, say it was all made up, does it really matter? Mr. H. has always just been trying to entertain and engage his students, something that worked very well, and the story has taken on a life of its own now with social media that I think it’s okay to just let it be.

If even half of what he has been telling is true, then I don’t blame people for not wanting to talk about it, and if none of it is true, then I just look at it as a very well-crafted and well-told story that entertains people to no end, myself included.

So, I simply tell people to “enjoy!”

“The Kimberly Story” Transcript

 

3 responses to ““They Live in the Walls” – Ed Hermanski’s “Kimberly Story”

  1. Ok, Taylor, this is way too weird! Calgary was just telling me this story (more or less, you know how details get changed as a story is retold) today in the car. I was like, “Really, Caly, this is so not true!” She is convinced it is true and told me to Google it. And, thus, I found this post on your blog. Wait until I tell her! Pretty creepy story, true or not. Alright, really, really creepy story that will probably give our entire family nightmares! In reading your “about me” paragraph, I see that your film will be out next Spring. Congratulations! I hope you will share how we can see it. Best wishes!

  2. Hey! I just wanted to let you know that spelunking is actually cave exploring, not rock climbing! Just thought it would help readers understand the story a bit more :)

Leave a Reply

