What can a proofreader do for you? FAQs

juliaproofreader

What’s the difference between proofreading and editing?

As a proofreader, I will correct the following:

  • Spelling errors
  • Typos
  • Punctuation errors
  • Grammatical errors
  • Obviously missing or duplicated words
  • Misapplied or inconsistent tenses
  • Wrongly-assigned dependent clauses

Editors will perform services such as: suggesting cutting out characters; changing or omitting dialogue; changing the narrative arc of the novel; moving chapters around; various other suggestions that will in their opinion improve the book.  I don’t alter the writer’s work apart from correcting it.  (I will, however, point out anomalies of plot or continuity if I notice them.)

Therefore, I emphasise that proofreading should take place as the final stage before your work is ready for publication.  All editing and rewrites should be done before proofreading.  The only stages that come after proofreading are formatting for Kindle, and cover design.

How about authors proofreading their own work? I can do that, I can use spell check, I’m…

View original post 645 more words

Leave a Reply

