The Times Were Always Changing

Still you are blessed, compared with me!

The present only touches you:
But oh! I backward cast my eye,
On prospects dreary!

And forward, though I cannot see, I guess and fear!

Robert Burns – To a Mouse, on Turning Her Up in Her Nest with the Plough (1785)

There have only ever been a few times in my life where I have really questioned where I’m going. Sure, like most people, there were always those moments where I briefly wondered what was next, but actually sitting down and looking at my life subjectively isn’t something I do much. The last time I did, though, I came up with a very detailed plan; an exit strategy for leaving the 9-to-5 life behind for the first time, and finally starting on the path to a career I’ve dreamed of since childhood.

The plan was working, to my surprise, and I knew it was because I was being careful; not taking unnecessary risks, and only putting money into making this plan a reality when I had it. The results I started seeing because of this careful determination were so encouraging that I had to wonder why I waited so long to get started. But I also had to tread carefully. One misstep, and everything I’ve worked toward these last six months would easily be jeopardized.

I just needed to stick to the plan a little while longer, and then I would be safe to chase that dream.

The best laid plans of mice and men, right?

Leave a Reply

